Chippy!

Standard

Every Spring and Summer morning I can remember waking up to the worlds most annoying bird. My sister and I called it the “burrito bird.” I don’t know if the bird was singing or sending out a mating call but it sure was irritating. We called it the burrito bird because it sounded like it was saying Burrito, Burrito, Burrito in it’s bird chirps. Not something we looked forward too.

Something I do look forward to? Chippy.

Precious, right?

Precious, right?

A not-so-creative name for a chipmunk, but a name. Chippy will scurry by my window everyday at work. S/he sits by a small bush and finds something to chew on. Then looks around for about 5 minutes and its off to the next bush.

photo by Ken

***UPDATE*** Chippy is actually a thirteen-striped ground squirrel, not a chipmunk! Thanks, Greg!

One response »

  1. Actually, your friend chippy is technically a thirteen-striped ground squirrel.
    They used to run all over the empty lot next to the car wash where I work. Sometimes one would sneak into my booth when I had the door propped and eat dead bugs out of the corners.

    PS, you can set up your blog’s RSS feed to update automatically as “notes” in Facebook.

Leave a Reply

