the ‘bees

Standard

24 years ago I was named after my Great Grandmother Beatrice. Her nickname was Honey Bee, my Grandmothers is Queen Bee and I’m, well, Worker Bee.  Fitting, I know.

This past weekend while I was home my parents had a little gold box waiting for me.  The box was from my Grandmother containing a crystal necklace and earrings.

Bea's Necklace and Earrings.

Bea's Necklace and Earrings.

The jewelry was a wedding present to my Great Grandmother Bea from my Great Grandfather Mac.  It was then given to my Grandmother, who thinks I should wear it on my wedding day, to Rob….I couldn’t agree more!  I’m so honored to wear [another] piece of jewelry that has such a history of love behind it.  I don’t get to keep it, so I suppose I’m starting my collection of “something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue.”

Here is a photo of my Great Grandmother Bea on her wedding day.

Bea---Be Wed.

Bea---Be Wed.

Isn’t she amazing?! I hope to one day be able to throw a party like the ones I’ve heard she threw, or to be willing to wear wrist cuffs and a big hat on my wedding day.  I’ll be finding some different earrings for the big day, as beautiful as they are, they are just too heavy for my little lobes.  I’m open to suggestions!

Worker Bee, out.

Leave a Reply

