“home”

Standard

Apartment searching is stressful, especially out of state.

While I would have loved to visit Ithaca to look for rentals it was going to be too costly. So I did a TON of craigslist/googeling for a place to call home.  I had a few prerequisites for our housing arrangement.

  • Can’t be an apartment complex. Can be a house turned apartment but not an apartment complex. I don’t like hallways, you never know what’s hiding behind door number 1!  …Too much Law and Order: SVU maybe?
  • Has to be dog friendly.  Duh.
  • Has a washer/dryer—yoga clothes stink and are expensive, I didn’t want to be hauling around laundry/buying multiple outfits.
  • Within a 15 minute commute to downtown.
  • At least a 2 bedroom.  It’s nice to have a place for guests to stay/all my crafty items stored.

Well, it was rather difficult to find a  place that was dog friendly.  Which is really funny because Cornell has a world class vet program.  I found it even funnier when I got here that EVERYONE has a dog, downtown.  So who the heck are their landlords?  I even sent emails to landlords begging to consider us.  But, no luck.

My mom got in on the housing hunt with me.  She kept sending me a craigslist link to a place that was 1 bedroom where you could “bring your horse”.  I ignored it because I really wanted a 2 bedroom.  After searching and searching and finding only scammers, I looked into this “Horse House”.  Turns out Moms know best.  I said it…they do. The only downside is that it’s only a 1 bedroom.  But! We have two full size couches and a queen size blow up mattress, so we are ready for visitors!

The landlord is really sweet and if we had a horse we could use the pasture behind the house.  The rental house is a bit funny though.  The house is partitioned into 3, 1 bedroom apartments and another house on the property. We have a one bedroom, one bath, garage, washer/dryer, really nice kitchen appliances, a huge living room, a huge dining area, and 5 acres—the majority of the house.   There is a one bedroom apartment on the other side of our living room and kitchen, as well as another one bedroom apartment below that section. I’m glad no one is living below us…but we do occasionally hear the lady next door talking loudly to her cat, “Pootie”.

I love how open it is and how large each room is.  Lots of room for Meiko to sprawl.I’ll take you on a grand tour of our “home”…

Entrance

Entrance

Entrance

The green table I found at a local resale shop and it was an ugly brown color. Just a little sanding and painting, and eventually, a new knob and it’s adorable. The chalkboard was used at our wedding and my parents have been housing it for the last two years.  I will probably change up the greeting once and a while,  but for now, I like my “home, sweet home”. I wasn’t sure where to put the things we need but don’t want to see so, they are on these shelves since we don’t spend much time in the area.  The white chest was my dresser but now it houses all of our mittens/hats/outdoor gear.  The green chest was a birthday present a few years ago from my parents…Chests hold soooooooo much.  I love them so much, I have two! :) The laundry room and entrace to the garage is located on the other side of the wall with the white dresser.

Living Room/Office

Living Room/Office

Living Room/Office

We also have a pellet stove, not pictured. It’s to the left of the TV.  It’s going to come in handy this winter! There is propane heat, too but we live in Ithaca now. We have to be energy efficient. The wall that the “office” is the wall with the bookshelves in the entrance.  There is a white chest between the two couches, housing warm blankets…it’s cozy here.

Kitchen

Kitchen

Kitchen

We have a ton of empty cabinet space! :) We also really wanted to have our pots and pans accessible and didn’t have a good location to hang them without producing a ton of holes in the walls so we opted for the buffet.  Plus, now we have a lot more counter space, as if we didn’t have enough. ;)

Dining Room

Dining Room

Dining Room

China/fiestaware!

China/fiestaware!

Notice anything splashtastic? I love having a “gallery wall” of our own artwork! Thanks, Splash Studio! We are so excited to display and use many of our wedding gifts, like; the bookshelf that our friend Joel made us, housing lots of our fiestaware platters.  At Ikea we purchased doors to the existing bookshelf we had and are now able to showcase our china! Such grown-ups. The table has 3 leafs, so there’s lots of room for dinner guests!

Bedroom

bedroom

bedroom

When the landlord built the house, intended for her family, she made sure the bedroom could outfit a king size bed with a staircase to the bed for her dog.  So, long story short, the bedroom is huge. If we were to put a TV in the bedroom it would have to be larger than the one we have in our living room in order to see what’s playing.   Dance party, anyone? The back porch is on the other side of the sliders. The three doors from left to right; bathroom door, closet door, and door to the rest of the house.

Bathroom

bathroom

bathroom

A bathroom’s a bathroom, right? Shower/tub, sink, toilet, linen closet. All the necessities.

Yard

Meikos Yard

Meikos Yard

Meiko, the sun goddess loves having a yard to roll around in and when the weather was nice, I loved sitting on the giant porch overlooking the hills.

 

Leave a Reply

